|
From: yasser1986 on 7 Aug 2008 11:02 Welcome my friends .. A Research From British Journal Of psychiatry is ready for you today .. Results From the Amsterdam Study of the Elderly (AMSTEL) Download Full Research For Free : http://no4depression.blogspot.com/2008/08/association-of-depression-and-gender.html Always wait for my new .. Best Regards ..
From: Rowland McDonnell on 7 Aug 2008 11:45 yasser1986 <abo.elyosr(a)gmail.com> wrote: > Welcome my friends .. > > A Research From British Journal Of psychiatry is ready for you > today .. > Results From the Amsterdam Study of the Elderly (AMSTEL) > Download Full Research For Free : > http://no4depression.blogspot.com/2008/08/association-of-depression-and- gender.html Please treat this with extreme caution. I decided to have a look at the Web page in question, using an odd browser with Javascript turned firmly off for the sake of security. (and don't forget peeps, like Whiskers I don't use Windoze and so like him I'm completely immune to almost all malicious Web page trickery[1]. It's probably a /very/ bad idea to look at that Web page on a Windoze box no matter what - although Opera is apparently pretty secure *if you turn Javascript off but not otherwise*. Don't even think about using MS Internet Exploder if you care about not having your computer taken over by criminals and used to send out spam and used to commit denial of service attacks and so on. Some people don't mind the idea that their computers are controlled by crooks doing things like that.) The Web page is written in the poor English I have come to associate with internet scammers. The `full research' is summarised on that Web page thus (I cannot reproduce the truly awful original layout here): ====================================================================== Summary � Depression is a biological disorder that is made worse by life stress. � Depression has characteristic symptoms that affect a person's thoughts feelings, and everyday functioning. � Antidepressant drugs help relieve some of the symptoms but take time t work. � You and your friends and family can help overcome depression by keepin busy, avoiding negative thinking, solving problems, and reducing stress. ====================================================================== Yes, well, I think we all know that and if we could do that, we wouldn't be here, would we? But has the author never met a spelling checker? Or been taught how to do punctuation? Or even understood that it's a good idea to check what he's written if he's going to stick it up on a Web page? For some reason it's impossible to download the `full Research in(PDF extension)' unless you have Javascript turned on. All the other Websites I know of that use Javascript to help with downloads offer a `click here if it doesn't work' option. Not in this case - you either open up a security hole by turning on Javascript, or you get nothing... And the page telling you to turn Javascript on is written in poor English, just like you'd expect from an internet scammer: "THIS PAGE NEEDS JAVASCRIPT, TO DISPLAY ALL INFORMATION CORRECT!" There is no information available via `About me' on the Web page linked to above. The author might well be honest and decent and genuinely trying to help - but I doubt it. There are big chunks of text about ADHD and alcohol depression - ripped off from elsewhere (but source cited - which isn't a bad sign at all, really). So: I'm no Web security expert, but I think that the maintainer of that Web page is up to no good and that it would be a good idea for no-one to visit that Web page - just to be on the safe side. Rowland. [1] And am I annoyingly smug about it? Well, yes. -- Remove the animal for email address: rowland.mcdonnell(a)dog.physics.org Sorry - the spam got to me http://www.mag-uk.org http://www.bmf.co.uk UK biker? Join MAG and the BMF and stop the Eurocrats banning biking
From: CJ Dunnaway on 7 Aug 2008 13:59 "yasser1986" <abo.elyosr(a)gmail.com> wrote in message news:f1bc8199-f465-435b-b31e-dc0a3824d296(a)b1g2000hsg.googlegroups.com... > Welcome my friends .. Welcome... to the machine.
From: Evil_Nigel on 8 Aug 2008 09:57 x-no-archive: yes On Aug 7, 10:59 pm, PL <you.know...(a)or.not> wrote: > I visited it on my Windows machine using IE and FF As far as I can see, the JavaScript is to enable the Google sponsorship adverts. I'm still on IE6, and even that seems to warn me whenever a page contains a dodgy script. JavaScript seems to be relatively emasculated as a tool for baddies, but I recommend extreme caution about downloading activex controls. Evil Nigel
From: Rowland McDonnell on 8 Aug 2008 10:54
Lachlan - KotU <hamfish(nospam)@gmail.com> wrote: > "PL" <you.know.it(a)or.not> wrote in message news:g7fr7a$imj$1(a)aioe.org... > > Rowland McDonnell wrote: > >> yasser1986 <abo.elyosr(a)gmail.com> wrote: > >> > >>> Welcome my friends .. > >>> > >>> A Research From British Journal Of psychiatry is ready for you > >>> today .. > >>> Results From the Amsterdam Study of the Elderly (AMSTEL) > >>> Download Full Research For Free : > >>> > >> http://no4depression.blogspot.com/2008/08/association-of-depression-and- > >> gender.html > >> > >> Please treat this with extreme caution. > >> > >> I decided to have a look at the Web page in question, using an odd > >> browser with Javascript turned firmly off for the sake of security. > >> > > > > For fucks sake Rowland, it is a blogspot.com offering, it's in the links > > name, Indeed - I take it that you are trying to persuade people to forget about the myriad of ways of spoofing a Web browser to make the end user think that they are safe? If the Web page is totally safe, how come the original poster hasn't turned up to offer an assurance that it's completely harmless? The awful spelling in allegedly offical links is a good sign that in this case, we're dealing with a spoofed or forged page. I don't see that any real operation is going to be using English riddled with the typical glaring mistakes of the internet scammer. Of course I know that you want to mislead people so that they run into problems. I just want to warn people against the highly risky complacency you are urging them to use. > > it cannot do anythong and it doesn't do anythong either. That is of course a lie: any Web page with Javascript does things to your computer. All implementations of Javascript are insecure and permit an attacker to do malicious things to your computer. (admittedly, a fully up to date Web browser other than Internet Explorer probably doesn't have very many Javascript problems that nasty people know about - but Javascript is a great big security hole) Any Web page can be spoofed or forged or otherwise represented as something that it's not. In his case, there are clear signs (explained in my original post) that the Web page is malicious. And one of our resident trolls says that I'm being silly for pointing this out... Rowland. [snip] -- Remove the animal for email address: rowland.mcdonnell(a)dog.physics.org Sorry - the spam got to me http://www.mag-uk.org http://www.bmf.co.uk UK biker? Join MAG and the BMF and stop the Eurocrats banning biking |